2018 / 2019 Appreciations

The Torbay and Devon Civic Award owes a lot of gratitude to a lot of people who play a vital role in leading and managing the award programme.

The names on this page are of those who supported and co-ordinated aspects of the award during 2018 / 2019.

Our special appreciation goes to:

Award officials

  1. Karen Thomson – Award Founder and Co-Ordinator
  2. Gary Vine – Online Editor and Backend Admin Support

All participating primary schools and all the staff who coordinate the award

  1. Kirsten Gibbs – Abbey School
  2. Shelley Birchmore – Bovey Tracey Primary School
  3. Elaine Harrison – Cockington Primary School
  4. Susan Cynk – Collaton St Mary C of E Primary School
  5. Kate Nowell – Exminster Community Primary School
  6. Sue Spry – Feniton C of E Primary School
  7. Chris Ames – Gatehouse Primary School
  8. Amanda McGuire – Hazeldown Primary School
  9. Shelby Chew – Highweek Primary School
  10. Emma Taylor – Homelands Primary School
  11. Sam Bennett – Ilsham C of E Academy
  12. Katherine Davenport – Our Lady of the Angels Catholic School
  13. Becky Stephenson – Preston Primary School
  14. Marie O’Shaughnessy-Relf – Priory RC Primary School
  15. Helen Brown – Sacred Heart Primary School
  16. Kate Lee – Shiphay Learning Academy
  17. Gill Adnams – Silverton C of E Primary School
  18. Tammy Sowby – St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School
  19. Tracey Lawrence – St Marychurch C of E Primary Sch0ol
  20. Nicola Slack – St Mary’s Catholic School (Buckfast)
  21. Richard Hatswell – Tipton St John Primary School
  22. Karen Crompton – Torre C of E Academy
  23. Natalie Miller – Trinity School
  24. Claire Hayman – Uffculme Primary
  25. Sam Shepperd – Warberry Academy
  26. Adam Morris -Watcombe Primary School
  27. Carol Shilston – Whumple Primary School

Cuthbert Mayne

For supporting and hosting the presentation evening on Wednesday 3rd July 2019

  1. James Dean- Head Teacher
  2. Mr K Statham- Assistant Head Teacher
  3. Miss S Kingdon -Assistant Head Teacher
  4. Aaron Mitchell – Performing Arts and Marketing Technician
  5. Jake Mitchell – Year 12 Media Student
  6. Amelia Smith – Year 12 Media Student
  7. Students from SCM who helped with refreshments

Uffculme School

For supporting and hosting the presentation evening on Thursday 4th July 2019

  1. Lorraine Heath OBE – Executive Head Teacher
  2. Lisa Batten and Gwen Roberts – Operation Managers
  3. Marty Jeffrey – AV Technician
  4. Catering staff from Uffculme

Special Guests

  1. Councillor John Matthews – Chair Elect for Devon County Council (Presented Certificates at St Cuthbert Mayne)
  2. Councillor Terry Manning – Deputy Torbay Civic Mayor (Presented Certificates at St Cuthbert Mayne)
  3. Councillor Margaret Squires – Vice Chair of Devon County Council (Presented Certificates at Uffculme)
  4. Councillor James McInnes – Cabinet Member for Children’s Services and Schools (Presented Certificates at Uffculme)

The Torbay & Devon Civic Award does not allow the downloading of images from our website. To request a image please contact the relevant school who will get in touch with us.